Skilled Regional Provisional Visa (subclass 489)

Visa Details

This visa allows skilled workers to live and work in regional or low-population growth metropolitan areas of Australia for up to four years.

There are three pathways to the visa:

  • The Extended stay pathway
  • The Invited pathway
  • The Subsequent entry pathway

This visa might lead to the permanent Skilled Regional visa (subclass 887).

Eligibility Criteria

You must:

  • hold a subclass 475, 487, 495 or 496 visa (Extended Stay pathway);
  • be nominated by a state or territory government agency or be sponsored by an eligible relative (Invited pathway);
  • be invited to apply (Invited pathway);
  • have a relevant occupation;
  • have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation;
  • meet the points test pass mark of 60 points;
  • be under 45 years of age at time of invitation;
  • have Competent English language skills.


Start the conversation